Monaco here we come…no pressure…really…none at all…not from me…. Honest….

We have to win by three goals. Simples.

Remarkably, I think we are able, nay likely and the pressure having been removed will be the reason. This is no Bayern Munich.

For years I have watched lunatic performances condemn my beloved Arse to either CL Group second place or last 16 exit – and on each occasion the performances have been stilted, disjointed and out of character. The press have conjectured, accused, blamed and cajoled, the social media has twittered insanely, viliefied, insulted. But not once have I seen a suggestion of what I consider to be the truth.

It is a team of top international players, (inexplicably) reduced by nerves to near rigor mortis.

We have been seeing it for years now. Terrible defeats in cup matches. In league Cup Finals. In key Premiership encounters. Massive defeats in either numbers of goals or import.

Something is quite clearly wrong in the psyche of ‘the Arsenal Way’ the Wenger Way. Whatever you want to call it.

I have no idea if we are talking about bad psychological profiling of players, of pressures from the Boss, of heaped expectations. A pertinent question is, why were most of them available to buy? But anyway, the same team can go to the lair of the finest clubs in Europe trailing by three and stuff them. Because the first instance of nerves and pressure and expectation has been removed. And they can play again. And they often do.

I don’t know how to mend it, or why it happens, but it IS why I expect a close run thing with Monaco in the end.

Did I say expect? Shit, Sorry Lads, ignore me, I didn’t mean it, honest – no expectations here. Gulp.

Leave a comment